關於創辦人

關於創辦人

陳瑞球 博士 (1926-2018)
GBM GBS OBE 太平紳士

 

陳瑞球博士,大紫荊勳賢、金紫荊星章、OBE、太平紳士,是長江製衣有限公司及YGM貿易有限公司的創辦人,在香港製衣及紡織業界享負盛名,是一位成就卓越的香港工業先驅;同時回饋社會各界,團結製衣業發展;尤以斡旋早期勞工保障而貢獻不少;並關注和支持青年教育發展等。陳博士是一位熱心教育和社會事務、古道熱腸的善長仁翁。

於1926年出生的陳老先生,祖籍廣東東莞,生於一個紡織業商人家庭,共八兄弟姊妹,一家和睦。可惜身逢動盪年代,陳家為逃避戰亂,奔波流離於省、澳、港之間。於1941年,香港淪陷,陳家再次舉家逃離香港前往澳門,戰後才安居於香港。早年喪父的陳先生只有16歲便輟學,隨兄長在華南及香港地區經營紗布生意,1949年陳先生以當時23歲之齡,創辦長江製衣廠。他們三兄弟共同奮鬥,可惜長兄幼弟早逝,餘下他獨力支撐整個家族。

陳先生與香港一起成長,曾經歷1967年香港暴動、製衣配額之戰、勞資談判、中英談判、前途問題、香港經濟轉型、多次經濟及金融危機、沙士等,但他不懼風浪,信守承諾、胸襟豁達,凡事親力親為,與業界翹楚帶領香港製衣紡織業屢次轉危為機。

1969年,長江製衣於香港上市;於1979年,國內剛開始經濟改革,陳先生便率先帶領集團與國營合作,為國內第一間中外合資之棉織廠,設廠於無錫,名為「國棉一廠」;如今廠務蒸蒸日上,更不斷發展國際業務。1987年主營成衣批發零售生意的YGM貿易有限公司由長江製衣分拆上市,擁有自家品牌及代理各國品牌。長江製衣集團,由原本一間細小的製衣廠,開拓成為製衣業界的多元化集團,一條龍的製衣服務,不論在香港或是國際間亦享譽盛名。

陳先生事業成功之餘,不忘回饋社會。人稱「球伯」的他,為人親切,一生熱心公益事業,尤其關心青年的教育。他遺憾自己因戰亂而無奈輟學,希望支持教育界有心人士作育英才,令青年人得到完善教育,成為國家棟樑!陳先生多年來為香港、廣東、江蘇、上海、北京等地教育、醫療機構、基建發展、社區建設、青年發展等都作出無私付出;陳先生無論對莘莘學子或基層家庭也是關愛非常。他尤其心念故鄉東莞,主動建設,辦農業研究、資助醫療救濟、學校教育等,以回饋家鄉、支持經濟起飛、扶助老幼。陳先生樂善好施,以身作則教育家族後人「施比受更為有福」!

陳先生育有六名子女,每位皆成家立室、各有所成;現已四代同堂,和睦融洽。家人互相愛護,因為陳先生除了熱心工作,同時亦十分重視家庭關係、嚴守家訓、團結凝聚、守望相助。與已故夫人林滿珍女士青梅竹馬、鶼鰈情深、相敬如賓。他們的愛,成為家中成員的楷模。於2009年,他倆蒙受聖恩,受浸成為基督徒。

陳先生座右銘:「處世樹為模,根穩任從枝上舞」;
「立身錢作樣,內方還要外邊圓」亦為他的處世之道,格言如今樹立於「陳氏家族慈善基金」捐贈予東莞市虎門鎮的「餘慶小築」公園內,供家人子嗣溫故思考,寄語後人繼續把家業發揚光大,莫失莫忘,飲水思源。

關於我們

About Founder

About Founder

Dr. Chan Sui Kau (1926-2018)

GBM, GBS, OBE, JP

 

Dr. Chan Sui Kau, GBM, GBS, OBE, JP, was a renowned Hong Kong industrialist, philanthropist and founder of Yangtzekiang Garment Limited and YGM Trading Limited. He was a great contributor to Hong Kong’s garment and textile industry and the economy as a whole. He devoted himself to Hong Kong in many ways, most notably in the garment industry, labour protection and youth education and development.

Mr. Chan was born in Guangzhou in 1926 and had seven brothers and sisters. During the turbulent years, Dr. Chan and his family sojourned between Canton, Macau and Hong Kong. In 1941, Japan invaded Hong Kong and so the Chan family fled from Hong Kong to Macau. At the age of 16, Mr. Chan stopped schooling and began on his journey in the trading business; and the family resettled in Hong Kong after the war. In 1949, at the age of 23, Mr. Chan founded Yangtzekiang Garment Manufacturing Company. He established the company with his two brothers, but unfortunately his brothers died young and left him to support the entire family on his own.

Mr. Chan grew with Hong Kong; he witnessed the Hong Kong 1967 Riots, was involved in textile quota conferences, labour negotiations and experienced the Sino-British talks, tackled issues relating to Hong Kong’s future and economic transformation, and went through numerous economic and financial crises and SARS. Mr. Chan remained fearless, and with integrity and a big heart he led the garment manufacturing industry through numerous difficulties and turned them into opportunities.

In 1969, Yangtzekiang Garment Manufacturing Company became a publicly listed company in Hong Kong. In 1979, economic reform began in China and Mr. Chan was one of the first to lead groups to collaborate with the state-owned enterprises, and ‘Wuxi Cotton Factory’ was set up as China’s first Sino-foreign joint venture. The factory continues to run strongly, domestically as well as internationally. In 1987, YGM Trading Limited was spun off from Yangtzekiang Garment Limited and became a separately-listed public company. Its main business is in garment wholesaling and retailing with its own brands as well as licensed international brands. YGM Group has grown from a single factory into a diversified group in the garment industry, providing services that cover all stages of garment manufacturing and gaining considerable reputation both in Hong Kong and internationally.

Not only was Mr. Chan successful in business, he also gave back to the community. People liked to call him ‘Uncle Kau.’ Mr. Chan was friendly, generous and noted for his philanthropy, especially in education for youth. Mr. Chan regretted that he was forced to stop schooling because of the war, so he wished to support educators in providing young people with sound education. Over the years, Mr. Chan had given generously (many times anonymously) to establishments and projects in Hong Kong, Guangdong, Jiangsu, Shanghai and Beijing, not only for education but also in the areas of healthcare, infrastructure, community building and youth development.  In particular, he gave back to his hometown of Dongguan in the early days, for developing agriculture research, education and healthcare. His belief is ‘it is more of a blessing to give than to receive.’

Mr. Chan had six children whom all now have their own families are successful in their own right. Mr. Chan was also able to connect with his great grandchildren. He has created a loving and harmonious family because apart from being dedicated to his work, Mr. Chan also greatly cherished his family, abided by the family creed and valued unity amongst members. For decades Mr. Chan and his late wife, Mrs. Lam Moon Chun, loved and respected each other, setting an example for their descendants. In 2009, they were baptized together in front of family and close friends. 

His creed: ‘Like a tree, if the roots are strong, the branches can spread widely.’ (「處世樹為模,根穩任從枝上舞」); ‘Like an ancient Chinese coin, there is a square inside with integrity but its perimeter is round for smoothness.’ (「立身錢作樣,內方還要外邊圓」) This creed is set up in ’Yu Qing Garden’ (餘慶小築) in Dongguan, donated by the ‘Chan Family Charitable Trust’ for the family to ponder and follow, in order for the legacy to continue and the roots remembered.

More about us